Congratuations!  You’ve decided to purchase a new home.  The next step is to talk to a trusted lender.  Today, lenders can be found through a variety of sources. You can find and apply to lenders over the internet and through referrals. The Team Couch team would be happy to suggest lenders we have used successfully, who have proven themselves competitive and capable even with problem properties or poor credit.

When you are looking for a lender, it is important to consider these items:

  • Does the lender have the ability to explain things clearly and return your phone calls in a reasonable time period
  • Is the lender competitive with interest rates, costs & fees.
  • Is the loan program that suit your credit profile and desired property available to you
  • Does the lender have access to local loan approval committee that understands the kind of property you are buying

I Found A Lender, Now What?

Once you find a lender, they can help you get pre-qualified for a new home.  The pre-qualification process can be completed fairly quickly, based on less information than is required for getting pre-approved. While it is fast and it does help, a pre-qualification letter is an opinion from a lender of the maximum amount of real estate you can qualify for. In a competitive seller’s market, an offer from a buyer with a pre-qualification letter could lose out to a person who is pre-approved.

Get Pre-Approved by a Lender

There are several benefits to going the extra mile and getting a pre-approval letter. First of all, you will know exactly how much real estate you can afford. When you find a property you want to buy, your offer will be in a better positioned than someone less prepared. Finally, being pre-approved is more efficient; it reduces the amount of time it will take your lender to fund your loan. Be prepared to provide comprehensive documentation, which the lender may independently verify, including but not limited to:

  • Job and career status
  • Income
  • Monthly debt payments
  • Cash available
  • Total assets and debts

Team Couch Recommended Lenders

Iberiabank Mortgage
Jake Scott – Germantown, TN
(901) 757-7179
jake.scott@iberiabankmortgage.com

Desoto Mortgage Company
Lori White
(662) 890-3000
lori@desotohome.com

Brad Walker
(662) 890-3000
brad@wltloans.com

Community Bank
Clay Brown – Southaven Branch
(662) 349-4200
clay.brown@communitybank.net

Trustmark Mortgage
Rachel Eben – Olive Branch, MS
(662) 892-6550
REben@trustmark.com

Bancorp South
Starla Murphy – Hernando Branch
(662) 449-2110
starla.murphy@bxs.com

Guaranty Bank
Eddie Reed – Hernando, MS
(662) 429-1819
ereed@gbtonline.com

Chuck Jackson – Senatobia, MS
(662) 301-1049
chuck.jackson@gbtonline.com

Doug Capps – Hernando, MS
(662) 298-0131
doug.capps@gbtonline.com

Pinnacle Financial Partners
Ken Pruett
(901) 299-8539
ken.pruett@pnfp.com

Let Team Couch help you find the new home of your dreams!  Contact us today to get started!